Skip to content
Carlos Cruz-Diez received Turner Medal Award 2015

Franco-Venezuelan artist Carlos Cruz-Diez has lived and worked in Paris since 1960. He is one of the great figures of kinetic-optic art. He is a contemporary theorist of color whose artistic proposal is based on four chromatic conditions: subtractive, additive, inductive and reflected condition. His research has brought art a new way of understanding the phenomenon of colour, greatly expanding its perceptual universe.

Cruz-Diez’s work revolves around color conceived as an autonomous reality, devoid of anecdotes, progressing in space and real time without past or future, in the perpetual present. In his works the colour appears as a reality that can exist without the help of form and even stand unaided.

Carlos Cruz-Diez’s work is present in many permanent collections including the Tate Modern, London; the University of Essex; Museum of Modern Art, New York; Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and Wallraf-Richartz Museum, Cologne, Germany.

During the last few years, his work has been exhibited in the UK at the Hayward Gallery, Tate Liverpool, Chrisities’s Mayfair and The Mayor Gallery, among others.

In 2014, as part of the exhibition Radical Geometry in the Royal Academy of Art, the artist was invited to discuss his experiments with colour and movement, and how he engages viewers with his art, with Joanne Harwood, Director of the Essex Collection of Art from Latin America.

He was commissioned by the Liverpool Biennial to decorate the Edmund Gardner ship to recreate the concept of dazzle painting, as a part of the commemoration of the Great 14-18 War. Located in Canning Graving Dock, Liverpool, the Carlos Cruz-Diez’s dazzle ship will be visible until 2018.

The Turner Medal will be awarded to Carlos Cruz-Diez following a video presentation of the artist’s life and work which will take place in the Great Hall, City University London on Wednesday 1st April 2015. After the presentation, there will be a live video-conversation with the artist from his studio in Panama.

Following the award ceremony, refreshments will be served in the Great Hall Foyer.

Previous Turner Medal recipients: Peter Sedgley, Albert Irvin, Martin Kemp, Roy Osborne, Zandra Rhodes, John Gage, Bridget Riley, Kaffe Fassett. 


© Carlos Cruz-Diez / Adagp, Paris, 2015 Photo: © Royal Academy of Arts, London